Nigeria dominated the night at the CAF Awards 2023, taking home the two top honours as Asisat Oshoala was named Women’s Player of the Year, and Victor Osimhen was named Men’s Player of the Year.

Monday’s award capped off a sterling year for Victor Osimhen whose historic feat in the imperial Moroccan city of Marrakech ended Nigeria’s 24-year-old wait for Africa’s top individual prize. Legendary Kanu Nwankwo was the last Nigerian to win the award and that was in 1999.

CAF Award 2023
Asisat Oshoala

Nigerian football icon, Oshoala secured the CAF Women’s Player of the Year for a record sixth time. The attacker’s dominance continued as she inspired Barcelona to Champions League glory, finishing as the club’s top scorer with 27 goals across all competitions.

Nigeria was named the National Team of the Year for the women, while Morocco was given the same nod on the men’s side. Super Falcons goalkeeper, Chiamaka Nnadozie was crowned Africa’s best at the CAF awards held on Monday night at Marakesh in Morocco. She beat fellow goalkeepers like Moroccan shot-stopper Khadija El-Rmichi and South Africa’s Andile Olaminii.

CAF Award 2023
Victor Osimhen

The ultimate winners in each category were decided through a voting process involving a panel comprising CAF Technical Committee, Head Coaches, National Team captains and media professionals.

See the complete list of winners at the CAF Awards 2023.

Player of the Year (Men): Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)

Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year
(Women): Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

CAF Award 2023
Chiamaka Nnadozie

Coach of the Year (Men): Walid Regragui (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men): Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women): Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

Young Player of the Year (Men): Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz)

Young Player of the Year (Women): Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

National Team of the Year (Men): Morocco

National Team of the Year (Women): Nigeria

Club of the Year (Men): Al Ahly (Egypt).

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed