Each time the CFDA appoints a new chairman, they also choose a different location for the annual CFDA Awards. For the 2023 CFDA Awards, the fashion elite made their way uptown to the Museum of Natural History to welcome Thom Browne as the new chairman and discover which of this year’s honorees would claim the coveted Trova statue.

Serena Williams is the 2023 CFDA Awards Fashion Icon.

At the 2023 CFDA Awards, Serena Williams, the renowned tennis champion and style icon, was honored with the prestigious Fashion Icon Award. This recognition celebrated not only her exceptional athletic achievements but also her significant impact on the world of fashion. Serena’s bold and unapologetic sense of style has consistently captivated and inspired audiences around the globe. 

Her red carpet appearances and fashion choices have continuously set trends and broken boundaries, making her an icon in the truest sense. With her unparalleled charisma and unwavering commitment to self-expression, Serena Williams has not only redefined the sports world but has also left an indelible mark on the fashion industry. The Fashion Icon Award was a testament to her unique influence and status as a style trailblazer. To further verify that she’s worth the award and more, she attended the event in a show-stopping piece by Thom Browne. See the full look here

Kim Kardashian presented Serena Williams with the
Fashion Icon Award at the 2023 CFDA Awards. This makes Serena Williams the first sports star to ever take home the prize. On accepting the award, Williams said;

“Ever since I was a little girl,I’ve used fashion as an outlet to express myself. I have had so much fun learning my style and allowing it to change as my life has evolved, but I’ve always held one thing true fashion is for everyone, no matter your size, race or income”.

Serena Williams
Anne Hathaway: A delightful host.

Anne Hathaway took on the role of host for the night, which commenced with the announcement of Willy Chavarria as the American Menswear Designer of the Year. In a light-hearted moment, Chavarria playfully referred to the fashion industry as “so extreme and so unforgiving” before expressing his passion for creating clothing that uplifts people and spreads love. He earnestly appealed for more empathy in both fashion and life, concluding with a call for kindness among one another.

Following a brief mix-up where Maria Cornejo’s career highlights were mistakenly displayed onscreen instead of her work, Mara Hoffman graciously accepted the Environmental Sustainability Award. She described her discomfort with the fashion industry and its waste problem as a catalyst for positive change. In an emotional speech, Maria Cornejo dedicated her Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award to voiceless and innocent children who won’t have the chance for a full lifetime.

The atmosphere took a lighter turn as Demi Moore introduced her friend and colleague Gwyneth Paltrow, the recipient of the Amazon Innovation Award. Moore playfully exclaimed, “You made a candle that smells like a vagina!” 

Below is the comprehensive list of winners from the 2023 CFDA Awards.

American Womenswear Designer of the Year

Catherine Holstein, Khaite

American Menswear Designer of the Year

Willy Chavarria

American Accessory Designer of the Year

Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, The Row

Shop With Google American Emerging Designer of the Year

Rachel Scott, Diotima

Board of Directors Tribute

Vera Wang

Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert

Domenico De Sole

Amazon Innovation Award

Gwyneth Paltrow, Goop

Fashion Icon Award

Serena Williams

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

Maria Cornejo

Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard

Alina Cho

Environmental Sustainability Award

Mara Hoffman

International Designer of the Year

Jonathan Anderson, JW Anderson and Loewe

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed